Navarre Family Watersports Logo 450px

General

When do I need to wear a life jacket?

You must wear a life jacket at all times if..
  • You are riding on or operating a Waverunner or CraigCat.
  • You are using a Paddleboard or Kayak.
  • You are a kid 6 or under riding on a Pontoon Boat.
  • You are a kid 6 or under playing on the Wibit Waterpark.

Do you provide life jackets or should I bring my own?

We provide Coast Guard approved life jackets free of charge at our facility! If you do wish to bring your own jacket or floaties, please ensure they are Coast Guard approved! If they are approved, it will normally be stated on the information tag or patch.

Do I need to bring my ID with me on the Pontoon or Waverunner?

Yes. Much like driving your car, it is a requirement by law that you bring a Valid drivers license or Permit with you while you are operating our equipment.

Do I need to take a Boater Safety test to operate your equipment?

It is a state requirement that anyone born on or after January 1, 1988, must have a Boater Safety Card to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) or vessel in the state of Florida. Anyone born before January 1, 1988 may operate the Vessel/PWC using their drivers license.

Where can I take the Florida Boater Safety test?

The Florida Boater Safety test is required by those who were born on or after Jan 1, 1988, in order to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) or vessel in the state of Florida. (This includes our Pontoons, Waverunners and CraigCats.) A temporary test (valid for 1 year) can be administered at our facility for $3.50. — Alternatively, permanent (Free!) Florida Boater Safety courses are administered at: http://www.boatus.org/florida/ If you are not a Florida resident, you can choose your appropriate state’s course from the following list: http://www.boatus.org/free/

The permanent courses take roughly 3 hours to complete and are more involved than our temporary 1-year tests, but have the advantage that they are good for life!

What happens if it rains during our activity?

Wibit Waterpark
We will not close the Wibit Waterpark due to rain. If conditions worsen or lightning becomes a factor, we will close the park for a set amount of time. We will freeze everyone’s time at the closure. Your time will resume when and if we reopen the park. If weather is too severe and we have to close for the rest of the day, or you simply wish to leave instead of waiting, rain-checks will be provided.

Pontoon Boats
If you are caught in a storm while renting a pontoon, you can either choose to wait it out (Check the radar and use your best judgement to determine this, or alternatively, give us a call), return your boat for a partial refund or reschedule for a different date (if adequate rental time remains). If you choose to return your boat, please drive with caution. If lightning becomes a major factor, please beach the boat and wait until it passes.

Dolphin Excursions
Our staff monitors the weather up until your excursion. If we believe weather may become an undesirable factor during your excursion, we will notify you. Our goal is to ensure you are comfortable during your 2 hour guided tour. If an excursion is scrubbed, a refund will be provided upon request, or rescheduled for a different day.

Waverunners & CraigCats
If weather becomes a factor, we will not rent out our Waverunners or CraigCats. If you are caught in a storm during your rental, proceed back to our facility with caution. Upon arrival, if adequate rental time remains, you may either get a partial refund, rain-check, or pause your time and finish out the remainder after the storm has passed.

Kayaks & Paddle Boards
If weather becomes a factor, we will not rent out our Kayaks or Paddle Boards. If you are caught in a storm during your rental, proceed back to our facility with caution. Upon arrival, you may either get a partial refund, rain-check, or pause your time and finish out the remainder after the storm has passed.

Can we get our deposit back?

Our cancellation policy is set at 48hrs in advance. If you meet this deadline, you are eligible to get your deposit back. Cancellations after this deadline will have their deposit forfeited, with the only exception being for adverse weather conditions.

Are deposits credited towards our rental or refunded?

All deposits taken while booking are credited towards your rental. Deposit refunds are only given if weather becomes a factor or if a cancellation is made at least 48 hours in advance.

Do you have off-season rates?

No. Our equipment costs the same to operate whether it’s during the summer or during the off-season. However, pontoon rental times are a lot more flexible during the off-season, meaning you can rent them by the hour, and not just by our standard half and full day rates.

Can I use an out-of-state Boater Safety Card?

Yes. If you have a valid Boating License or Safety Card from another state, you may use it in the State of Florida. Please ensure you bring a photo ID with you as well, as both are State requirements.

How long does it take to complete a Boater Safety test?

Most people who have taken our temporary test have completed the test in 15-20 minutes, average.

What is your Military/Veteran rate?

We offer a 10% discount for all active U.S. Military and Veterans on our equipment. For the Waterpark, you will receive 2 hours for the price of 1.
Please bring identification! Impersonators will not be tolerated.

What are your hours of operation?

Our hours of operation stay the same for most of the season, but often change when the season is winding down and when we first open for the next season. Our current hours of operation can be found at the bottom of our home page. (Click here to view our hours of operation.)

Is your facility handicap accessible?

While our main facility is fairly handicap accessible, you would not be able to get down to the beach without help. When it comes to handicap accessibility and our Pontoons, we may load you at a different location. Please call ahead or tell us at your time of booking so that we can make the proper arrangements.

Do you have a Beach area where we can hang out during our activity?

We do have a small beach area where customers can set up chairs, umbrellas and tents for the duration of your activity/activities. However, please be mindful that NFWS Staff, NFWS Vessels and Fly the Boat will be frequently utilizing this area as well. Please note that some areas may be off limits for the safety of our customers.

Is alcohol served?

Navarre Family Watersports does not serve alcohol, however it can be purchased from the bar next door, at Dewey Destin’s.

Who has to fill out rental paperwork?

Everyone that will be driving or riding on any watercraft (including kayaks and paddle boards) at Navarre Family Watersports will need to be on our rental paperwork. Adults 18 or older are required to sign the sheet in person, while a parent or guardian is required to sign off for any minors.

Paperwork is done on a per vessel basis, so if only one Pontoon is rented, all parties will be signing the same sheet. If multiple vessels are rented, for example, 3 Waverunners, then 3 sets of paperwork will be provided. Someone 18 or older must fill out the bulk of each sheet. This can be three different people. Riders or other drivers will need to be signed off on at least one of the sets of paperwork.

Rental paperwork is not available online, however it can be picked up or filled out in advance.

Drivers: Please bring your drivers license with you! It is a state requirement to operate a Vessel or PWC and will need to be on file with us as well!

Are you open on holidays?

During our normal season, we are open 7 days a week. Of course, this is weather dependent. Outside of our normal season, we open for equipment reservations only. We will not open on major holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, ect).

CraigCats

How old do you need to be to rent a CraigCat?

You must be at least 18 years of age to rent and 16 years of age, with a valid photo ID, and Boater Safety Card to operate a CraigCat at our facility.

How many people can ride on a CraigCat?

Our CraigCats can only hold 2 people at a time.

Are fuel and life jackets included with a CraigCat rental?

Fuel and life jackets are included in the price of your rental. If you need to refuel during the time of your rental, you can do so free of charge at our facility. However, refueling at locations other than ours will be your responsibility.

Can we take the CraigCats into the Gulf?

No. CraigCats must remain in the Intercoastal waterway or Sound at all times. They are not rated for open water.

Kayaks

Where can we Kayak?

You can Kayak as far as you want, as long as you are back before your rental concludes.

Can we transport your Kayaks to a different location?

Yes, but only if you get the 4hr package or greater. This ensures you are not rushed to return the Kayaks to our facility.

Can I fish from your Kayaks?

You may fish from our Kayaks, although, gear and tackle is not provided. Be sure to purchase a fishing license from a nearby vendor! (e.g. Walmart or Half Hitch Tackle)

Do you deliver Kayaks?

We do not. However, you are more than welcome to transport the Kayak(s) to a different location yourself. See “Can we transport your Kayaks to a different location?” for more information..

What is the weight limit for single and double kayaks?

Our single Kayaks can hold up to 325lbs, while our doubles can hold up to 400lbs.

Mini Golf

What age is a “kid” considered for Mini Golf?

12 and under are eligible for our kids rate.

Paddle Boards

I’ve never used a Paddle Board before!

Neither have I, but after watching numerous people fail, I have concluded that the easiest way to learn the ropes is by starting on your knees until you gain a sense of balance.

Can we transport your Paddle Boards to a different location?

Yes, but only if you get the 4hr package or greater. This ensures you are not rushed to return the Paddle Boards to our facility.

Do you deliver Paddle Boards?

We do not. However, you are more than welcome to transport the Paddle Board(s) to a different location yourself. See “Can we transport your Paddle Boards to a different location?” for more information..

Pontoon Boats

How old do you have to be to operate a Pontoon boat?

You must be at least 16 years of age, with a valid photo ID, and Boater Safety Card to operate a pontoon boat at our facility.

Do you have life jackets on board your Pontoons?

Yes. Navarre Family Watersports provides 12 adult and 6 kids life jackets on board each boat.

Can we keep a Pontoon boat over night?

No. Pontoons must be returned to Navarre Family Watersports no later than 6:30pm every night.

Can I fish from your Pontoons?

Fishing from our Pontoons is permitted, although gear and tackle is not provided. Be sure to purchase a fishing license from a nearby vendor!

Do you drive the Pontoon for us?

No. You will be operating the pontoon yourself, but don’t worry, we will go over the entire boat with you!

Is fuel included with a Pontoon rental?

Fuel is included in the price of your rental. If you need to refuel during the time of your rental, you can do so free of charge at our facility. However, refueling at locations other than ours will be your responsibility.

Are there set times that Pontoon Rentals must leave?

1/2 Day Rentals
Half day boats have two rental blocks. They can either leave by 8:30am or by 1:00pm, for the second block. Your half day rental period is 4.5 hours.
 
Full Day/Full Day Extended Range Rentals
Full Day and Full Day Extended Range boats are recommended to leave no later than 9:00am. You can leave as late in the day as you want, but all boats must be back on the beach no later than 6:30pm. Your Full/Extended Range rental period is 9 hours.

What is the difference between Full Day and Full Day Extended?

A Full Day Extended rental does not increase the time of your rental, but allows you to take the boat past the allowed range of our half and full day rentals. A higher fee is charged due to the additional fuel consumption and insurance that must be carried.

You can view the following interactive map to get a better idea on where you can take the pontoon during your rental period:

Full Day Extended areas are highlighted in red.

Do you allow Dogs on your Pontoons?

Absolutely! Feel free to bring your Dog(s) with you.

Can we take the Pontoon into the Gulf?

No. Pontoons must remain in the Intercoastal or Sound at all times. They are not rated for open water.

Can I bring a Cooler with Food and Drinks? Alcohol?

At NFWS, our goal is to leave you dehydrated, hungry and ticked off..

Oh, wait. That’s not right..
Of course you can bring a cooler. In fact, we highly recommend it! Alcohol may be consumed, but please drink responsibly. Just like driving a car, whoever is elected to operate the pontoon must not be intoxicated. Intoxicated drivers can be charged with BUI.

Can I bring my infant on a pontoon boat?

We do allow infants on our pontoon boats. Each boat has a Bimini top which provides adequate shade on the boat. We recommend not bringing infants on days that are windy or have the possibility of less than favorable conditions. However, the decision is ultimately yours to make!

How early do we need to arrive to our booking?

We recommend arriving no later than 15 minutes before your scheduled departure time. This is about the bare minimum of time that it will take for you to complete your rental paperwork and for our crew to brief you.

Can we bring a grill with us?

Sorry, but grills are not allowed to be transported or used on our boats.

Are Pontoons still limited to 10 people?

When at all possible, we ask that you have no more than 10 per party. Our Pontoons are rated for a max of 12 people (This is a Coast Guard regulation). Comfortably, they will only fit 10. This restriction is in place not only for your comfort, but also for safety, ensuring that our boats are not overloaded.

Because most seating on Pontoons is located on the front of the boat, loading to the max allowable capacity has caused numerous issues. This includes but is not limited to blown out panels from the bow diving into waves, (also resulting in) stress damage, and engines not receiving adequate cooling, which in many cases has lead to customers becoming stranded.

After making this change, we have seen a significant improvement in the comfort of our customers, and the safety and reliability of our vessels.

For these reasons, we ask that you plan accordingly to limit your party to 10 passengers. However, if this is simply not possible, just be aware that by law, we absolutely cannot accommodate any more than 12 persons per Pontoon Boat!

Slingshot

How old do you need to be to rent/drive a Slingshot?

Insurance requires the renter and/or driver of our Slingshot to be at least 26 years of age.

Is a motorcycle license required?

The Slingshot is not classified as a motorcycle, therefor only a standard drivers license is required.

Is the Slingshot manual or automatic transmission?

Our Slingshot has a 6-speed manual transmission.

Waverunners

How old do you have to be to operate a Waverunner?

You must be at least 18 years of age to rent and 16 years of age, with a valid photo ID, and Boater Safety Card to operate a Waverunner at our facility.

How many people can fit on a Waverunner?

Our Waverunners can hold up to 3 people, although we recommend only 2 adults or 1 adult and 2 kids at a time. This typically makes for a more comfortable ride.

Are fuel and life jackets included with a Waverunner rental?

Fuel and life jackets are included in the price of your rental. If you need to refuel during the time of your rental, you can do so free of charge at our facility. However, refueling at locations other than ours will be your responsibility.

Can we take the Waverunner into the Gulf?

No. Waverunners must remain in the Intercoastal or Sound at all times. They are not rated for open water.

How late can we rent Waverunners?

If renting for a hour, Waverunners must leave the beach no later than 5:00pm. If renting for a half hour, Waverunners must leave the beach no later than 5:30pm. If you are looking to rent during this time, please also take into account the time that will be needed to fill out rental paperwork (~2-5 min.), and if needed, a Boater Safety Test (~15-20 min.).

Do you have a weight limit for the wave runners?

We operate two different models of Yamaha Waverunners. One has a slightly smaller frame, but both use the same engine. The smaller Waverunners can hold up to 400lbs, while the larger Waverunners can hold up to 450lbs.

Can I reserve a Waverunner?

Waverunners are offered on a first come first serve basis. We will not take reservations or hold a Waverunner for any party.

Waverunner Dolphin Excursions

Will we see Dolphins?

As Dolphins are wild animals and typically don’t follow a schedule, we can’t guarantee you will see any. Although most tours will come across a pod or two, there are always those random tours that may not get that opportunity.

How long is the dolphin excursion?

Waverunner Dolphin Excursions last for 2 hours.

Are riders charged extra?

Dolphin Excursions are priced per Waverunner. You will not be charged per person!

Wibit Waterpark

Do you have any age requirements for the waterpark?

Participation age is left completely up to the parent or guardian. Although, by Coast Guard regulation, kids 6 and under must wear a life jacket at all times.

Is the waterpark just for kids?

No! We have had everyone from kids to grandparents take part in our Wibit Waterpark. Everyone of every age is welcome to take part!

Are waterpark prices per person?

Yes. All prices for our Wibit Waterpark are per person.

Do Florida residents get discounts?

Locals (Meaning anyone who lives in a 325 zip code) and Military can receive 2 hours for the price of one if they display a proper ID. (License/Military ID) If you do not fall into these two categories, regular rates apply.

What is the average water depth?

Water depth averages 4.5 feet around our Wibit Waterpark. Do note that depth may fluctuate a foot or two depending on tides.

Do you offer any Party or Group rates?

If you bring 10 or more people, each person will receive 2 hours of play time for $15 each.

How do you get out to the Waterpark?

There is no transportation out to the Water park. A sandbar stretches most of the way out to the park, making it fairly easy to walk to. Water depth around the park averages 4.5′ with 1-2′ fluctuations in depth occurring on tidal changes. A corridor will guide you out to the park.

Can we leave for lunch and return later with an All Day pass?

Yes. Please bring your wristbands with you when you return!

Can I purchase tickets online?

Waterpark tickets are only available for purchase at our facility.

Is there any protection around the waterpark?

The Wibit Waterpark has a barrier of inflatable buoys providing a visual boundary to keep watercraft away from swimmers. The buoys do not have a net to keep sea life out, as any sea life that may find their way through it could become trapped. Nets are also impossible to keep free of barnacles and oysters and would become a hazard to both swimmers and employees over time.

Do you allow reservations?

Bookings may be made online for birthdays or larger groups (10 participants or more). However, this is to give our employees adequate notice that a large group will be showing up. We do not rent out our park to a single party, unless that party exceeds the maximum capacity of the park itself.

What are the waterpark hours of operation?

Waterpark hours of operation are the same as our standard business hours listed here on the website. Tickets for the last hour of the day will be sold until 5:30pm.

What is the maximum capacity of the waterpark?

Our waterpark is rated for a max of 65 persons.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Help us make our FAQ section better by submitting a question!

FAQ submissions will not receive a response.